J&L: A Pittsburgh Icon
Dedicated to the hardworking people of the region, Rivers of Steel is proud to present our new exhibit: J&L: A Pittsburgh Icon. For over 125 years, Jones and Laughlin Steel was the symbol of industrialized Pittsburgh. Dominating the landscape of the city, physically and emotionally, “J&L” was the essence of the region. Its history spans the years from the development and expansion of iron-making in the 1850s, through the boom of 20th century and finally to the decline of the industry in the 1980s. The mill lived at the heart of region’s blue collar persona: strong, determined, persistent in presence, and willing to adapt to survive. Using photographs, archival documents, artifacts, and personal stories, the exhibit tells the story of an incredible and resilient company and the region that it helped to create. Exhibit opens early December.
The Bost Building was built in 1892 as a hotel and served as the temporary headquarters for the Amalgamated Association of Iron and Steel Workers during the Homestead Lockout and Strike. Two rooms in the building have been restored to the way they looked in 1892, with original floorboards and period reproduction wallpaper. One room tells the story of the Homestead Strike; the other contains photographs that chronicle the restoration of the building from dilapidation through its opening as the Rivers of Steel Visitors Center.
Recently added to the restored rooms is a computer kiosk displaying an exciting documentary on the Battle of Homestead. Using archival footage, photographs and documents, this film allows you to learn about history on the site where it occurred.
The Homestead Room is a permanent exhibit displaying artifacts and art work specifically related to the Homestead Works. The centerpiece of the exhibit is a 23.5' long model of the Homestead Works that originally stood in the General Office Building of the mill.
Admission - Adults $3
Children under 14 - $1
Members - FREE
Docent-led tours of the Bost Building or Pump House are available by appointment for $8 per person, or combine the two for $12 per person (includes admission to exhibits). For more information, contact us or call 412-464-4020 ext. 32.
Monday - Friday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Closed on federal holidays.
Rivers of Steel's exhibits and offices will be closed on the following days:
Cancellation stamps for the Rivers of Steel National Heritage Area and the Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail are available at the visitor center at the Bost Building during exhibit hours.
Located in the Waterfront at 880 E. Waterfront Drive, Munhall, the Pump House was the site of the battle between workers and the Pinkerton Detective agents during the 1892 Homestead Lockout and Strike. The site has been renovated for use as an interpretive space. The Pump House is also a trailhead for the Great Allegheny Passage. Though parking is still available, the restrooms are closed for the season. Facilities will reopen in the spring.
Sunday Heritage Market
On the first and third Sunday* of the month, from 10 AM to 2 PM, the Historic Pump House is home to the Rivers of Steel Sunday Heritage Market. This event is open to the public and offers visitors a chance to explore the historic building and site, and also to support and enjoy local artisans, businesses, music, and fun! The market opens April 7 and runs through September 15. A special Saturday market will be held on June 15 in conjunction with the grand opening of the final piece of the Great Allegheny Passage! For more information, find the market on Facebook, or to become a member, contact Christy at firstname.lastname@example.org.
*Except April 21 when the market will close at 1:00pm, and June 2 there will be no market.